Afraid

Afraid

 

 

I can’t walk another step

In these shoes I adorn

In them, I am faded, used up

Afraid I’m a bit worn

 

I’ve spent too many a day

Just glorifying myself

They waited, prayed for me, didn’t give up

While I hid within my wealth

 

Their calls I did not heed

And go against my will

I didn’t change for anything

And now I feel the chill

 

For there is no more time

No more rising suns

Though I ask one more chance

Afraid my time is done

 

Tim Keen

2-10-13

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00413PZ6G

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00413PZ6G

 

 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Afraid

  1. pattisj says:

    Nicely written, Tim, tugs at the emotions.

  2. prenin says:

    Good one Tom.

    One of our ladies at the church has terminal cancer and she’s running out of time.

    Yesterday when I went to church I was afraid she’s actually passed away until she moved! :(

    This poem is sooo close to her life…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks, Prenin. This came out of a little bit of family trajedy of my own. Two people in my had separate, sudden illnesses. One died and one is on the edge. Both of them woke up in the morning without a clue that anything was wrong. Then, it just happened. So it got me to thinking really hard.

      The clock is ticking, my friend. Can’t take a moment for granted.

      Tim

  3. saymber says:

    This poem really expresses well what we all fear — running out of time before we complete all our missions.

  4. This is such a moving poem, Tim.

  5. cat says:

    I remember you, Timkeen … come and visit me if you have time … http://catsruledogsdroole.blogspot.com/

  6. Hi Tom,

    That’s powerful indeed. I just loved the metaphor of the wearer getting worn out , as seen by the shoes. And the perspectives that come up with this wearing out.

    Blessings

    Shakti

  7. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    Hopped over to thank you for visiting Chancy’s blog and leaving a comment. Now that I am here I see that you have been given a great talent. I have enjoyed my visit here. Hugs and nose kisses from Chancy and me!

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    This is a strong and pained poem, Tim. I can identify with it much, not following, being warned, marching onward. It speaks loud on average humanity, and what extra it takes, to take heed.

  9. suzicate says:

    Wow, this is powerful. I really like the metaphor of “wearing” shoes.

  10. A sad piece that pulls at one’s core. Well done!

  11. Tammy says:

    Beautiful Tim. I really like some of the visions you painted like hiding within one’s wealth.

  12. diannegray says:

    This is very powerful, Tim. Beautiful analogy to life and time…

Leave a Reply

