Alone – For Those on the Road

Alone

 

Alone, so utterly empty and cold

His family a thousand miles away

Both husband and dad

Feeling tattered and old

 

Ahead, the wandering, snaking gray road

His destiny ahead ruled the day

Now tired eyes and sad

Feels less brazen and bold

 

No tears, the provider, carries his load

His duties are clear, bill to pay

Things aren’t so bad

Time to rise, do as you’re told

 

Tim Keen

5-19-13

 

Please check out my collection of short stories on Amazon.

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00413PZ6G

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00413PZ6G

 

 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alone – For Those on the Road

  1. prenin says:

    Good poem dude! :)

    Just caught your comment! :)

    I’m glad you survived Tim, every time we see reports on twisters here in the UK it is amazing so many people survive such terrible events!!! :(

    I’m feeling better now that Atos have cleared me to be on Employment Support Allowance.

    I still have to go in to the Job Centre to see what they can fit me up with.

    I did three years voluntary work and was chair of the local tenants and residents association as well as doing two years as a director of the Rochdale Federation of Tenants and Residents Associations before looking after a neighbour who had suffered a stroke for eleven months until he could be moved to be closer to his family – a nightmare because he was an alcoholic as well as a devious and manipulative user! :(

    He’s gone now, but it was a harsh lesson…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  2. Gray Dawster says:

    Nicely written Tim :)

    Andro

  3. such sadness evoked in the piece as well as the sense of duty that pushes the man about and around. It makes me want and hope that his loved ones recognize the agony and the devotion he seems to put forth,

Leave a Reply

