Ideas – Thunderbolts From God

Where do you get your ideas?
That, of course, is the question most often asked by people who read but do not write. Where in the world do you get ideas from?
I can’t speak for every writer. I can only speak for me. The answer is plain and simple.
I have no idea where they come from. They fall out of the sky, hit me in the head. I like to call them Thunderbolts. What I tell people all the time is simple. I don’t question the Thunderbolts from God. I just write them down.
When I sign off of this post, I am going to start working on a new story. Why? Because I saw a plastic kiddy pool in the woods. Yep, that’s it. That is the extent of my genious. I saw a twenty dollar pool in the woods and it sparked a string of thoughts inside my warped, twisted mind, and now I am writing a story.

When I am done, I will share it with you. I am thinking at least some of you will like it.

Tim Keen

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Ideas – Thunderbolts From God

  1. This is so right-on, Tim. You never know when you’re going to get smacked with one of those thunder bolts…and thank God for them!

    • timkeen40 says:

      There are a lot of people who look to singular moments in their lives and call them defining moments. I was seven when I opened one of those little Golden books – Lassie it was – and started copying down the words. It burned me up inside then and gives me goosebumps telling you about it now. It is what was going to be at the core of me for the rest of my life.

      That was thirty-seven years ago. They are still coming. I will write until they do not.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment.

  2. timkeen40 says:

    Thanks for taking the time to stop by. I hope you find something here you can enjoy.

    Tim

  3. Rachel says:

    Inspiration can come at any time, anywhere! Thanks for the insight!

    • timkeen40 says:

      Rachael,
      I think you work at it for sure, but the best ones just hit you!

      Thanks for the reply. I hope you will stop by later on and check out this site out again.

      Tim

  4. mairmusic says:

    Good luck w/ the story– love the surreal image of your inspiration!

  5. I truly believe writers “see” things differently. And yes, the use of quotes there is appropriate (I for one hate hate HATE unnecessary quotes, so I feel the need to justify) — as it’s less about seeing and more about feeling/transcribing/interpreting/experiencing.

    For me, inspiration is always a result of something seemingly innocuous in real life. And oftentimes, I’ll point out said bit of inspiration to someone else, who inevitably laughs at me for my “deep thought,” Jack Handy style (from the old Saturday Night Live skit).

    Oh well. I heart my deep thoughts. And I love seeing things differently — it’s my superpower! šŸ™‚

    • timkeen40 says:

      I believe writers ponder things more deeply. Do they ponder things more deeply because they are writers or are they writers because they ponder things more deeply?

      I will leave you to ponder that for yourself.

      Thanks for stopping by. Please join in again.

      Tim

  6. glasseye says:

    I’m forever dreaming up new ideas and looking for places to use them. Any bright, shiny object …

  7. alberg137 says:

    I think ideas come to those who will use them. It doesn’t take a special kind of person to have creativity, but the more you use a certain area of your creativity the more you will be rewarded with ideas in that area.

  8. Amala says:

    I never know what to say when people ask where my ideas come from. To say ‘my imagination’ seems too simple!

    I do wish ideas would hit me just like you’ve explained in your post. Sometimes they do! But most of the time I sit and wait and dream. It’s all about keeping your mind open as you go about your day and finding a prompt, and chasing the string of thoughts, like you did.

  9. Pingback: Growing Short Story Ideas « Torn Pages

  10. yes, they fall out of the sky and hit me on the head… šŸ˜‰

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks for the reply.
      If you haven’t already, please take the time to read the rest of my blog and offer your insight. I can use all the criticism I can get get.

      Thanks again.

  11. Ollin says:

    That was hilarious. And so true. I often feel weird answering that question, because it is often asked. What do you say? But what you described is usually how it happens. I see an image, or hear a song, or something triggers the wheels in my head and they just spin and there you have it. Great post, and welcome to the blogging world. You are gonna love it! šŸ™‚

  12. timkeen40 says:

    Ollin,
    Thanks for taking the time.

    I am already hooked beyond belief. Getting to share thoughts with the world is awesome.

    If you have not already done so, then please take time to enjoy the other posts on this site.

  13. souldipper says:

    Great answer to a big question, Tim. Amazing how much courage it can take to plop down what is fed through the…what? mind? heart? soul? Doesn’t matter, does it? šŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my site!!

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks for the comment and you hit it dead on.

      The person writing the story is giving away little secrets about themselves. The mind, heart and soul? Your deepest, darkest secrets? The part of you that makes you the most horrendous person alive? They are all out there for the world to see. Most people are not comfortable giving themselves away in great detail. It is demanded of writers.

      You stand figuratively naked in front of your peers.

      I think that does take some courage.

      I hope you have enjoyed my site.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Just another quick thought.

      Souldipper is an awesome tag line.

  14. SuziCate says:

    That’s exactly it; we get whacked in the head. And sometimes, we start off writing what we think we want to write and something just takes over and it ends up so different than we ever expected. Great post.

  15. frayedges says:

    My best ideas are thunderbolts and often come to me late at night. Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind words.

  16. dancingfreak says:

    oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo :O

    can’t wait to read your poem šŸ™‚

    yes ur so right abt calling it thunderbolt šŸ˜€

  17. Darlene says:

    I get asked that question, too, all of the time.
    And you’re right. I have no idea where the notion for a particular storyline comes from except to say from my imagination and once the imagination is turned on, it’s like a garden hose, stuff just flows right through it like water. I like how you call these ideas, Thunderbolts from God. I had been calling mine Angel Touch Ideas. Although not all of my ideas are angel touched. haha…the ones that are not get thrown away or filed somewhere in the back of my mind for future reference.

    I really enjoyed reading your blog this morning.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the kind words. Angel Touch Ideas is dead on as well. I agree on the throw aways. It seems like I have just as many in my drafts folder that never really took off as I do ones that I finished. Not sure if that is a reflection on the idea or my commitment to make them into something.

      If you get a chance give Blind Date and To Catch a Train a read. I would love to have your input on them.

      Thanks again,
      Tim

  18. trisha says:

    Thanks for the idea, because people often ask me the same question, i cant answer them, because just like you i too dont know the answer šŸ™‚
    now i do.

  19. Pat Cegan says:

    Writing , shooting photos, drawing, etc. makes me see the world in much greater attention to detail. And then there are these Thunderbolts that you describe so well. For me, the act of creating, regardless of the media, is a meditation. And the ideas come from that connection to our Creator. We are co creators. Thanks for visiting me, too. pat

  20. Heart says:

    Tim, I like the idea of Thunderbolts.. I myself get hit in the strangest of places.. While loading the dishwasher, while driving to work, sometimes even on those days, when I have had no human interaction for the entire day! I struggle with the writer’s block, and sometimes have trouble coping and scribbling down an endless stream of funny ideas.. šŸ˜€
    Tim, your site feels like familiar territory, because you have a lot of my good role models right here above me as I type.. šŸ™‚
    Wish to read your new story soon!
    Keep writing,
    Rachana.

  21. Thanks for your comment on my blog…and I agree, the ideas come from everywhere, anywhere, and just from our twisted little minds that are forever spinning them out. The mind is a wonderful, creative thing….. šŸ™‚ Enjoy your writing! šŸ™‚

  22. Lavender says:

    Great blog you have here. Guess I’ll have to add this one to those I have to keep checking. šŸ™‚

  23. aswirly says:

    I can’t wait to read your coming story.
    Ideas are like thunderbolts for the visually creative too. Sometimes I’ll just be plodding along when BAM, an idea comes and it must be created NOW! Ha, gotta love the bolt šŸ™‚

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thank you so much. I hope the story I put out there is something you like. I will give it my all.

      Don’t you just love that feeling, though, when someone so powerful hits you that you have to stop everything and get it into words? I don’t know how people who lack creativity live. I don’t want to know.

      Thanks again for reading the blog.

      Tim

  24. Stuff comes to me in the shower. Seriously. I thank God for water.
    I used to write solely about my own life, but started running out of original stuff, so now
    I use the world/people around me more, and create composite characters/events. The “I” is not really me. Maybe just a spark of me. I look forward to reading whatever it is you come up with!

    • timkeen40 says:

      Heather,
      When I read, one of things that is always there is that little “spark” from the author, I took notice. The author, the writer, can not help but put just a little of themselves into their work. Your post was awesome because there was just a tiny spec, a spark of you in it.

      Thanks for stopping by and I hope you will come back.

  25. 2zpoint says:

    You couldn’t have said it better. I have no idea what I’m going to write before I open the new page. Oh…I may get a thought that gives me an urge that won’t let me sleep but my plan is the same…I just start typing almost trance-like and the words seldom seem like my own but they come like a water fall that doesn’t want to stop until a point is made. Thus I exist in this way on the internet. People that know me have no idea that I write as I do…it is almost like leading a duel life! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

