What Keeps Me Writing

Just like anyone else who writes fiction, one of the motivating factors is to be the next King, Steele, or Koontz. I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to start my day with a cup of coffee, a good brisk walk, and the “stress” over my next story. Hell, I do that already, except I don’t get to take the brisk walk and I have a fifty-plus hour a week job to go to. To get up and only have to worry about the stress of writing will be a welcome sight to me.

The chase of the money is not what keeps me writing, though. I started writing when I was seven, long before I even realized that people get paid to write. I kept writing long after I figured out that people tend to look at you like you are a freak the minute you utter the words “I am a writer”. I keep on writing even though I have yet to make any money. I keep on writing for one very simple reason.

It is that moment.

You that write – especially those of you that write fiction – know the moment I am talking about, that moment when all the endless twisting and retwisting of words gels. It gels and you get that five minute or thirty minute high when you just know that everything you are putting down on paper is good.

Or at least as good as you are capable of making it. The eyes lock in on the computer screen, the head zings, and the fingers move faster than you know they are capable of moving. The story and the characters in your head are so real that you can touch them. They come to life with each word you type.

When you are done, when the thoughts and the phrases are recorded, you live comfortably with a single thought.

This thing is yours. You have done it, you have created it. No one can ever take that away from you.

It is the greatest feeling in the world. That is what keeps me writing.

What about you/

Tim Keen

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to What Keeps Me Writing

  1. Amala says:

    I hardly ever outline a story before I write it. Once I’ve started a story, the need to find out what happens next keeps me writing.

    In general, I keep writing because I need to. Like reading, writing is my escape. I am actually miserable if I go without writing for too long.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I, too, frown on the outline portion of the story. It makes the chances that I will get lost during the story and end up stopping before it is complete much greater. It also makes the editing and rewrite more difficult, but I find that my spontaneity is compromised if I spend too much time in planning. Spontaneity is what I consider my strong suit when it comes to writing.

      Thanks,
      Tim

  2. frayedges says:

    I write because I love to and need to. It’s a release from my worries and helps me to put my life in perspective. It allows me to share. There is nothing better.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I can’t think of any better reasons than that.

      By the way, I am so glad for your good news and thanks for stopping by my blog. There are a couple of short stories earlier in the post if that is your cup of tea. I would love to hear what you have to say.

      Thanks,
      Tim

  3. HisBell says:

    Ahhh… “the moment”… very well stated. I must say I write to connect. I’m not good socially… or verbally. I feel judged, put down… and my words slip twistedly out of my mouth. But writing…

    Oh writing is a different story… I can write without judgement… they read and feel my words… before seeing me… knowing me. They connect with me and my experiences.

  4. lesliepaints says:

    I chase the elusive perfect painting. The one that says it all that describes it best. It never happens because I keep seeing more to include or discover a different way. The journey is secure and the goal is that perfect painting. I paint. I don’twrite. I think we are both called artists. Good post.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I am glad you liked it and I agree, whether is a twisting of words or a manipulation of color to tell the story, there is a definite art to both.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Tim

  5. suzicate says:

    That is what keeps every writer writing…it is truly not for money. It is for the release, that momenotous internal high that only a writer knows…as you have just desribed. Keep writing, friend. It is truly in your heart.

  6. I do it because i enjoy it…..but i also do it because my memory is shocking, and all these wonderful ideas and pictures in my head will certainly be lost forever. They say that a emetary has the richest treasures…..everyone’s idea’s, experiments, and wisdom. Everyone’s potential that they never actually reached…. that is a sad thought. Perhaps the first step is writing. Do what God needs us to do- but first figure out what could it be!!
    xx
    http://husbands4hire.wordpress.com

  7. Carl says:

    Thank you for this post, Tim. You catch much of my motivation. When I lay the words down with my pen or into my computer there is also this feeling that I am clearing out the attic. My mind feels cleansed. It is very therapeutic for me.

    Also, if I write something that someone identifies with and they take the time to tell me, I feel as though I have really done something for the good. That sounds like ego, but it is more about feeling that you have some small purpose. People at my day job never identify with the work I do there and it often seems meaningless. I can make writing as meaningful as I wish, though sometimes I can be light weight and fun.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Carl,
      Very good reply. Thanks for stopping by. It is good to hear from other people who write. It is fun to share ideas and comments.

      I hope you enjoy this bog.

      Tim

  8. Fiona says:

    Thanks for the comment. Am I allowed to be excited because it was my ‘first’ comment on my blog? I too have wanted to write since I was young, its all I have ever imagined doing. I know that sometimes I have to force myself but the buzz that comes from getting the words on the page is amazing and only another writer can appreciate the feeling. Cheers, Fiona

    • timkeen40 says:

      Absolutely you are allowed to be excited. I am glad you chose to take the time to respond on my blog. It great sharing ideas with other writers. Hope you find you way back and good luck with your writing.

      Tim

  9. The truth is, I don’t write! Whenever I have written the beginning to something, I’ve never carried on. I don’t know exactly why, but I think it’s to do with the fact that I start writing without a plot. I just know I want to write about something in particular, and I just sort of expect myself to come up with the plot later on! I have very rarely reached th

  10. The truth is, I don’t write! Not properly speaking, anyway. Whenever I have written the beginning to something, I’ve never carried on. I don’t know exactly why, but I think it’s to do with the fact that I start writing without a plot. I just know I want to write about something in particular, and I just sort of expect myself to come up with the whole plot later on! I have very rarely reached that moment you describe, although those few times I have actually reached it I could say I’ve enjoyed it. I guess I’m simply too lazy to actually make the effort to get to that stage. I reread it once, and after realising that what I’ve done is completely useless, simply because I haven’t been through it enough, I give up. Simple as that. That’s why I admire all you people who can finish what you’ve started! 🙂
    (sorry about the doubling up of this, I somehow accidentally clicked “submit” before I’d finished! Feel free to delete it, as well as this bit!)

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks for the blog. Oddly enough, I have my own issues finishing the longer stuff. That is why you will see most of the stuff I have is in short story form.
      I hope you found something on the site you liked and I hope you will find you way back some time.

      Tim

  11. Louise says:

    I was so grateful for your comment on my blog today Tim — one, because you stopped by and said hello and two, because it led me to you!

    I shall keep coming back. I’m looking forward to delving into your writing.

    Merry Christmas to you!

    LouiseG

    • timkeen40 says:

      Fantastic! You keep on helping people and say Merry Christmas every day – even in July.

      I truly hope you find something I have written that makes you feel good. That is really all I want. It is what I was told to do by someone with much more knowledge than I.

      Tim Keen

  12. Dan Roberson says:

    Writing down all the moments in time that fill your mind and heart is an ongoing process. It is not done for the money or praise, although encouragement always helps. When the characters are so real they act on their own and fill the pages with thoughts that seem to come from somewhere, nowhere, or anywhere, but are distinct and true to character, then it becomes interesting. And if it is still fun or as necessary as breathing, keep on writing even when the world around you is putting obstacles in your path. Those obstacles will also become experiences and truths to write about. Write on, my friend, write on.

  13. trisha says:

    It really is a big truth, people think you are crazy if you utter the sentence “I am writer” 🙂

    I thought i am the only one who feels it.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I think every writer feels it that little look or feels that tiny little pause in the conversation when the subject of writing comes up.

      Thanks for commenting. Come back for a visit sometime.

      Tim

  14. Naomi says:

    Great post, Tim, and briliantly said!

    I’m right with you on your reasons for writing, although I like to outline my novels and begin with the end in mind. I’ve also found that the process is a form of deeper self-discovery, in the most playful way.

    Love your blog 🙂

    Naomi

  15. mairmusic says:

    If it’s how you enter the world then you do it no matter what. Nicely put.

  16. Hi Tim,

    Every writer, or every person, should read this post. It’s that feeling that makes me keep writing too! I hope you can visit my site too, and leave a comment if you may. I’m about to read your story, To Catch A Train now. I am happy that you enjoy writing, I do to. 😉 Let’s keep writing and long live! 🙂

    Judy

    http://longlivejudyism.wordpress.com/

  17. Sherri says:

    Love this post! I’m very careful of whom I say such things around, (eg…” I’m a writer”) as they do tend to raise an eyebrow when the words fall from my lips.

    Here comes the cliché. I figure, I write, therefore, I am. Although I know I could use a lot of work on all the other stuff (discipline, polishing, editing, etc.)

    Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I am glad you liked the post. I, too, write, therefore, I am. All the other stuff (discipline, polishing, editing) takes work. Writing is the fun part.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I need all the writer’s opinions I can get.

      Tim

  18. 2zpoint says:

    I have started writing this year because I watched my mother die, my autistic brother be placed in a home, and several amazing things happen to me as the bad things progressed. I suddenly realized that, through all my near death experiences and varied real life experiences, it isn’t worth having any of them if nothing is learned or given to others. Mom passed and I have some of her stories, no one can tell them like she could, but the reality is they are gone now to fading memories that I could not do proper justice to…so for the sake of my children, and their’s beyond that, they will have a chance to get to know me if they want to through my stories, poems, and shares. I only hope that it gives somebody a little help in this world because it looks like they may need it the way things are going. Take Care!

  19. The reason I write is because it calls to me and won’t let me stop. Even when life gets in the way, as it has recently, writing calls me until I start doing it again. Thank God it calls me. It’s comforting to know so many writers feel the same way. This is why I love networking with writers. We understand each other. So, yes, along with so many of you, I write because I have to. I need to do it.

    Happy Holidays.

    Mary~

  20. souldipper says:

    Your article and those who commented – all create a circle of precious people who I truly understand. Not one would have to explain why they put off picking the winning lottery ticket until tomorrow – 🙂

    And…so many familiar faces. We really are a family.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I started this blog just four weeks ago. In the process I have met and written to so many interesting people, people who share my need to create. It has truly been a blessing. Thank you souldipper for your comments.

      Tim

  21. yelena m. says:

    Yes, that feeling you describe is indeed the greatest feeling in the world. I am a poet but I believe it is applied to those who write in general, be it prose or poetry. Thanks for this post. 🙂

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks very much for the comments. I agree. Writing is writing, regardless of the form it takes. Have a great 2011 and stop back by for a visit.

      Thanks,
      Tim

Leave a Reply

