On A Windy Night

It is late at night here in Kentucky. I really should be in bed, but I am having a little trouble getting to sleep. You see, there is a cold front moving through our area. On the front end there was a lot of rain. On the back end there will be a lot of cold. In the middle, there is only wind.

The wind that blows tonight fires my imagination and stokes my will to write. I have to ask myself why?

What is it about wind that so enlivens the mind? I remember once, on a windy night, I was having difficulty sleeping. I got up out of bed and wrote a short story centered around the wind I was hearing outside my window. The wind compels me to do the same on this night, but I hold this compulsion at bay. Seven o’clock will come early in the morning.

What does the wind do for you?

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to On A Windy Night

  1. We are experiencing wind here, too. It’s supposed to be really strong tonight and definitely makes the temps seem colder. I like the wind if it doesn’t become destructive. When I’m in Reno, it clears the air of pollution that tends to build up because of the mountains and the inversion factor. Here in Palm Desert it’s a bit of a mess, ripping fronds off the palm trees and blowing desert sand in open areas. But to me wind has a spiritual connotation speaking of clearing out old ideas, refreshing the mind, stimulating new ideas. In the American Indian tradition it speaks of the East, of clarity, illumination and new beginnings.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Very interesting points. Clearing out of old ideas, refreshing the mind, and stimulating new ideas certainly does apply.

      Thanks as always for checking in.

      Tim

  2. nrhatch says:

    Extreme weather brings me back to the present moment ~ where I do feel more alive, and creative.

    Thanks, Tim

  3. trisha says:

    The sound of wind sometimes scares me, sometimes thrills me and sometimes relaxes me. 🙂

    I love to hear it all the same.

  4. Tim, I just wrote a blizzard poem, centered on wind. I’m in love with strong winds, whether in snowy climes or in the tropics. I was thrilled to be in Bermuda during Hurricane Emily (I was artist in residence, playing and singing at the Princess Hotel), and the next day was out in my shabbiest clothes picking up tar balls from the beach along with the locals. That’s when I was adopted by Bermudians officially. Here’s the poem:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/02/03/madison-midnight-ode-to-a-blizzard/
    Peace and stormy nights, Amy

  5. the wind brings me answers from a distant place, in a more forceful way than floating silently to me. brings up intensities.

  6. Laura Best says:

    My husband fears the wind at night, but I have never had this fear. I find it a great inspiration. There are so many possibilities to be had, so many things that can happen on a windy night.

  7. The movement of wind and rain – which refresh and stimulate – are always inspirational to me. I’m always even more productive at such time.

    Good post, Tim. Keep safe and warm.

    • timkeen40 says:

      I am working on the rewrite of the story that was written on that windy night as I speak. I wasn’t a very good record keeper back then, so I don’t know exactly when it was written. It was prior to 1999 because it was written on a manual typewriter. The corrections are handwritten over whiteout.

      Thanks again!

  8. It’s also cold here in Manila, Philippines. I love the wind most esp when I’m with the one I love. Makes me want to hug him or hold his hand. Then and there, the wind keeps me alive. 🙂 Keep safe, Tim!

  9. Debbie Adams says:

    For me the wind has two sides; the side that gets me thinking of how nice it sounds, that makes me want a cup of hot chocolate, if it’s cold out. The wind like you can wake up my artistic side; so I work on a new piece. But on the down side, if too windy I don’t think of any of those things. This wind can get get me to wondering if the shingles on the house will hold up, or if there are any weak branches on the trees around my house. Last summer the wind made me mad when it broke my “First-Up” (canopy). This wind is a powerful force that can cause a variety of joys or concerns.
    You’re link works fine.
    And just like you, I am glad I found your blog.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Debbie,
      I have been so happy to find so many interesting points of view. You are right. A strong but controlled wind can be a wonderful thing. I don’t know of anyone who writes or creates well in a tornado or hurricane.

      Thanks for coming by.

      Tim

  10. Hmm… Interesting question! Wind definitely sparks my imagination, gets at the romantic in me. More than anything, I think it makes me want to go out and be alone in the middle of this raging nature, and of course, I will take my camera with me! Also, it does make me want to express myself through words, which is something I very rarely do, but enjoy when I get round to it.

  11. Wordywoman says:

    I love the wind. Reminds me of one of my favorite childhood books called Emily Climbs.
    “One spring evening, when I was eight years old, I was running about the barrens playing hide-and-seek with the Wind Woman, and I found a little hollow between two spruces that was just carpeted with tiny, bright-green leaves, when everything else was still brown and faded. They were so beautiful that the flash came as I looked at them–it was the very first time it ever came to me. “~L.M. Montgomery

    What are some of the subject matters within your short stories? (if you don’t mind me asking) 🙂 The cover art is great!

    • timkeen40 says:

      The stories cover murder, robbery, and alcoholism. They lean to the dark side of the human experience, but if you like reading the darker side, hopefully they will entertain you.

      Tim

  12. nursemyra says:

    I don’t like winter winds, but love the hot summer ones that blow through Sydney

  13. deadpoet88 says:

    Ah, the wind the rain, and any stormy weather inspires me to write. I think my favorite is the rain though, the pitter-patter of drops, the scent of dirt in the air, love it. The wind also reaches out to my imagination and plays tricks with it, I always feel inspired. There is something so transient about wind, making you want to grab onto it before it is gone.

  14. Timoteo says:

    It blows bugs into my nose.

  15. Kavita says:

    I know!! It’s amazing how each force of nature has a different effect on us… But yes.. the wind seems to have a marked effect indeed… all of yesterday, it howled and howled, and kept me wrapped up in my home… and I kept wondering that maybe if I step outside, it won’t be so angry after all… so finally, in the evening, I stepped out.. and lo! It was much calmer than it seemed 23 floors above sea level 🙂 And then I wrote… and wrote and wrote…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Tim… that gave me the chance to come visit a good and inspired writer as you!!

    • timkeen40 says:

      It was absolutely my pleasure to visit your blog and an honor to have to stop by mine. I hope I can continue to write things that will keep you and others interested.

      Thanks,
      Tim

Leave a Reply

