Gangillo

It has been a bit since I have checked in. I have been working on something. This will be coming to you in parts over the next few weeks. Please take the time to digest it and provide the criticism that is critical to every artist who takes the work seriously. As always, I hope you enjoy it. If I truly wrote only for myself, you would never see this.

Thanks,

Tim Keen

Gangillo

 

            “You’re from Earth, right?”

            Gangillo was seated near the big window of the lounge overlooking the mutli-colored surface of Jupiter. He was drinking something the waitress had called beer. Despite his human form, it was a substance that was foreign to him, though not unappealing. He was on his second one when the girl walked up. He looked up from his mug at the woman who had appeared out of nowhere. He instantly noted how attractive she was. He liked women from all species, but Earth woman were especially desirable to him. This one was quite extraordinary.

            “That’s right,” he said with a smile. “How did you guess?”

            “The clothes fit what the Earthlings are wearing these days,” she said. “So does the hairstyle, but what really gave you away was the accent. I overheard you ordering your beer and it was a dead give away. You guys back on Earth just sound different from the people on Mars or even the people on their moons.”

            He smiled inwardly as he sipped his beer, taking some satisfaction. The form, the look, and the clothes had been easy, but the accent had been nothing short of a challenge. The range in the human voice was so limited compared to the Kanulean voices. It had been difficult to master is subtle nuances. The fact that he had nailed it forced a pat on the back from himself. He couldn’t wait to tell his tutors.

            “What part are you from?” she asked.

            She sat down without asking. He couldn’t be sure from Earth customs if it was rude or bold, but he didn’t care. He was going to ask her to join at the first opportunity anyway. She may not have been part of his original plans, but she was now.

            “I am from a little village just outside of Rome,” he said. “In Italy.”

            “Rome,” she said while motioning for the waitress to come over. “That was once the center of culture on Earth. Someone once said that to study Rome is to study the history of the world. We studied them and all the great cultures in college from the ancient Greeks all the way up to the United States. It was a great class.”

            The waitress came over and the young woman ordered a double shot of bourbon and a pitcher of beer. She also ordered a basket of fries with a side of pickles, also fried. She did all this while lighting a cigarette. Gangillo winced while choking on the thick smoke that suddenly drifted into his face. The diet of the Earthlings had been somewhat subdued in the early part of the twenty-first century due to the rising consciousness over health concerns. But the advancement of drugs and the stem cell research in the last part of the same century had all but wiped out disease and illness. The humans were practically impervious to death.

            That, of course, was their undoing. With the fear of death and disease gone, the humans saw it as their divine right to whatever they pleased whenever they wanted to do it. Immorality ruled. The new Rome, Gangillo thought.

            “Yes, I find the study of Rome quite interesting as well,” he said. He decided to shift gears. “You didn’t tell me your name.”

            “No,” she said twirling her black hair in her fingers. “I didn’t, did I?”

            The emotions of Earthlings, Gangillo had not quite mastered, but all species regardless of intellect, liked sex. The Kanuleans prided themselves in being able to bed any species any time anywhere. Gangillo was a master at the art of telling whether a woman was interested or not. The woman was flirting and he knew it.

            He glanced at his timepiece. He had more than enough time for some pleasure before the business of ensuring the destruction of the human race began. When the waitress came over with the beer, Gangillo poured her a large helping into a glass and smiled.

           

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00413PZ6G
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00413PZ6G
 

 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Gangillo

  1. danroberson says:

    Okay, o.k. In whatever language you’ve got me going. What’s next?

  2. Wild_Bill says:

    Good start. I’m interested in where we go from here. Let us know!

  3. Tim. this is a very original concept. I look forward to our extra-terrestrial Lothario’s doings! Amy
    (who is in another world herself, LOL)
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/ballad-of-the-one-percenter-political-poetry/

  4. ” the emotions of Earthlings Gangillo had not quite mastered “….
    I think there are quite a few Earthlings still to master this one Tim ,,,,,,
    Great start to your Story… thanks for dropping by Dreamwalkers Sanctuary Tim.. Hope you too had a great Halloween..
    Sue~Dreamwalker

  5. Eric Swett says:

    Very interesting beginning. I’m definitely interested in reading more.

  6. Pat Cegan says:

    Normally, I do not read stories as I have only explored blogs with poetry as this whole blogging world is new to me. When I first realized it was a story, not a poem, I almost clicked off but then before I did, you hooked me and I want to read more. I also wondered why you used the expression: “poured her a large helping into a glass,” as it is not a US expression and for some reason I thought you were from the US. Since I live in Brazil now, I always notice different expressions as it often tells where a person is from. Good start on your story. Hugs, pat

  7. adeeyoyo says:

    Well, I am intrigued, Tim. There are only two or three writers of fiction on my blogroll, but I like what I see on your blog. I agree with you, the human race sees itself as almost indestructable and the centre of the universe and this will probably be his undoing in the end. Go well…

  8. SidevieW says:

    hehehe, you have me hooked

  9. So glad you did check in, Tim. Just praying now that this is part of a wider project….fantastic writing…

  10. The Hook says:

    Great work, Tim! Keep it up!

  11. Enjoyed this story and looking forward to the next part.

  12. Androgoth says:

    A very nice introduction to your new story idea Tim,
    I will be calling back later to read part two my friend,
    it is quite a challenge to write science fiction so I will
    be interested in where you take this story…

    Have a fine rest of evening Tim 🙂

    Androgoth

  13. elizabethyon says:

    I’m hooked! I’m catching up, so on to the next installment… 🙂

Leave a Reply

