The Dance – Another Gift From the Blue

I hope you enjoy this little poem. It came to me from out of the blue.  I not much of a structured poet, so any criticisms are welcomed.

The Dance

 

Fantasy surrounds reality and rules the night

Reality starts at day, spread its wings and takes to flight

This dance they have shared since the dawn of time

This dance they have shared in this mind of mine

Peel back these layers, take a peek, and share this writer’s plight

 

Tim Keen

1-1-2012

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00413PZ6G
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00413PZ6G
 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The Dance – Another Gift From the Blue

  1. i think its a sweet little poem. i get it.
    k*

  2. pattisj says:

    I like it, and it makes sense to me. 🙂

  3. This is lovely, Tim! I like the “movement” in it. I would love to see it a bit longer, though! Maybe elaborate a bit more on the many layers that comprise fantasy and reality!

    I know what you mean about poem just “popping up” in our minds. I have long said that there are poems that I write, and there are the poems that I write down!

    Have a great 2012! – and bring me lots of great writing in it to enjoy!

    • timkeen40 says:

      Paula,
      The same can be said with the stories that I write. The best ones just come to me. The others are maybe technically just as good, but they always seemed a little forced on my part.
      As I continue to work on my poetry, perhaps my poems will get longer.

      Thanks for coming by,
      Tim

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    A good glimpse at the cycle we face each day.

  5. terri0729 says:

    Well, I thought it was pretty darn good!! 🙂 Blessings, Terri

  6. Glad you took the time to write it down.

  7. I like this very much. I love your enthusiasm. Lovely. Debra

  8. Excellent! I’m still waiting for the day my humor essays come “out of the blue” like that.

  9. Sharmishtha says:

    very beautiful tim. reality and dreams dance, twirl and swirl in every mind i guess.

  10. apollorose says:

    Some find the fantasy a perfect place from the reality of what they’re trying to get away from. I love how you depicted that it’s not a modern problem with this line, “This dance they have shared since the dawn of time.”

    There’s a lack of punctuation. I don’t know if that’s how you want the poem to be read, to be felt.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thank you, appllorose. I am glad you liked the poem.

      I am a novice when it comes to poetry. The lack of punctuation is totally my lack of knowledge, so you are correct. The way I wrote it was the way I felt it, the way it was sent to me.

      Thank you so much for spending your time with me.

      Tim

  11. Happy New Year Tim…. wishing you a great 2012… Lovely poem.. I know I am often inspired and given Gems of Poetry especially in the middle of the night.. I often wake up inspired and keep note book at the side of my bed… Loved this gift… we all wake up to a new day and weave it into our reality… Take care.. ~Sue

    • timkeen40 says:

      Sue,
      I should keep a notebook, a recorder or something else with me. I have lost so many ideas and thoughts just because I couldn’t write them down. The gifts are there for but a second and then they are gone.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Tim

  12. Tammy says:

    It makes perfect sense to me. The Portuguese word is Madrugada – that’s what this reminded me of.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks, Tammy. I don’t know that I have ever had a dialouge with someone who knew even one word of Portuguese until now. I do love this blogging world. Have a great new year.

      Tim

  13. Androgoth says:

    You should write some more poetry Tim and
    expand your thought processes 🙂 🙂 This is a
    nice entry into your Space…

    Have a great start to your Tuesday Tim 🙂

    Androgoth

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thank you, Andro. I might give the poetry thing a little more time.

      Have a great start to your Tuesday as well.

      Tim

      • Androgoth says:

        I have just read this one again and you have done
        really well with it, I wouldn’t wish to criticise anyone’s
        work to be honest as we all write rather differently.
        Structure is the key that will make a good poem
        into a great poem so that’s what I think my friend,
        in other words, always look at the finished piece
        and try rearranging the words used, even changing
        certain parts to add depth or a deeper meaning 🙂

        Have a great rest of day Tim and enjoy every moment 🙂

        Androgoth

      • timkeen40 says:

        Thanks as always.

        Tim

      • Androgoth says:

        I will be calling back
        to read some more Tim 🙂
        In the meantime keep
        up the great work 🙂

        Androgoth

  14. Raven of Leyla says:

    I like this poem, well done. I especially like that last line…
    “Peel back these layers, take a peek, and share this writer’s plight”
    It is what I hope for 🙂

    I am happy you stopped by and took time to leave a comment for me, Thank You!
    You are welcome to stop by Ravenwood…anytime.

  15. This reminds me of a particular line from a particular song. . . “Qui peut dire le faus et le reel? ” Great imagery — nicely done.

  16. Interesting piece, Tim!

  17. ladynimue says:

    this was so wonderful .. really loved the whole mood 🙂

  18. Enjoyed this so much. It’s good to see you again, Tim, and to know you’re still writing fiction.

Leave a Reply

