I Don’t Need a Gun

All across the world, all of us that write in any way are turning to our craft to somehow make sense of the tragedy in Colorado. In truth, there is no sense to it and that is what perplexes all of us. Death is inevitable and we all understand that. If it can be explained, then we can deal with it. Cancer? Tornado? Hurricane? Heart attack? Car accident? Plane crash? They are all tragic but explainable. What happened in Colorado just doesn’t make any sense. Most of us value life as the most sacred thing of all. How someone’s mind could become twisted to the point that they have no value for it, makes no sense to any of us. The people to whom it makes the least sense are the ones have lost loved ones to this mad man and to the ones who will survive but never quite be the same again. My heart goes out to them.

Tim

I Don’t Need a Gun

I don’t need a gun to set me free.

All I need is a cause, twisted and perverted

With a hatred and a passion that makes sense only to me.

The fire of death burns inside my soul.

I want to lash at you, boldly and assertive

To make you shiver in fear of me is my only goal.

So take the gun. Knife is next in line.

And I will use my will as Cain did to brother

Without weapon I still have method. See? My hands do just fine.

I don’t need a gun to set me free.

Tim Keen

July 21, 2012

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I Don’t Need a Gun

  1. lafgod says:

    Well said, my friend.

  2. pattisj says:

    Writing is therapeutic, may the words bring comfort to those who read and write them.

  3. Certainly said well…and there is so much to consider here. I don’t think I want to enter into the mind of someone who has slipped so far into madness–I don’t want to understand. There is nothing that will ever be the same for those families, and that’s more than I can even contemplate. I really appreciate your thoughts. Debra

  4. prenin says:

    This was not an act of insanity, but one of pure evil.

    This guy needs locking away so he never sees daylight ever again…

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  5. fiveloaf says:

    🙂 tq for coming by tim.

  6. Tammy says:

    So I was trying to discern if you do have a position on guns?

    • timkeen40 says:

      Tammy,
      I do own guns, more than one, but the central theme I was trying to convey is that this kind of evil in a man will find a way to get out regardless. Timothy McVey killed with fertilizer. The terrorists of 911 over powered planes with boxcutters. There is little doubt that the widespread availablity of guns causes unnecessary gun deaths. I won’t debate that. What I was trying to say is let’s not confuse this nutcase with that issue. They do not belong in the same conversation.
      I also realize others will have a different opinion. That’s okay. It is the right to dissent that makes ours a great land.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Tim

      • Tammy says:

        Thanks for the reply. I tend to agree with you and enjoy hearing differing opinions on this issue to help formulate my own stance.

  7. A strong message, Tim, beautifully put. All we need is our hands.

  8. The Hook says:

    Excellent piece of work, Tim.

  9. The Hook says:

    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

  10. Passing by, I was transfixed by your words and the power of their images. Hope to come back.
    Shakti

Leave a Reply

