The Day After Christmas

I hope you enjoy this little offering from the Dark Side of Tim Keen.

The Day After Christmas

 

‘Tis the day after Christmas and all through the house

Not a creature is stirring, not even that drunken louse

Who once made me swoon when his gaze was a dream

His eyes not constantly red, a lifetime ago now it seems

When he was my lover and friend, not just my spouse

 

I did nothing wrong, let me be clear from the start

I’m guilty of nothing, but giving him my heart

I said the right words, my dress was pure white

And I wasn’t looking forward then, ‘till death do us part

 

Don’t dare look at me with those accusing eyes

Don’t ask me any questions, ‘cause I’m fresh out of lies

‘Tis the day after Christmas and the bastard is gone

I must move forward, now I have to be strong

I’ll only be grateful that with him my pain dies.

 

Tim Keen

December 26, 2012

 

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00413PZ6G

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00413PZ6G

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Day After Christmas

  1. pattisj says:

    Apparently, this was a popular title for today; however, your post was much more creative than mine. 🙂

  2. prenin says:

    Yeah am I glad I stayed single!!! LoL!!! 🙂

    God Bless and Happy Nude Year! 😉

    Prenin.

  3. Dark Side, and yet, I have known women such as this one. Hope you had a wonderful holiday 🙂

  4. smarterwiser says:

    Right on target..awesome post! Thanks for blogging!

  5. beverley says:

    Yes that’s dark but it made me laugh too 🙂

  6. Androgoth says:

    There is nothing like a bit
    of Dark prose to start the day
    off wickedly Tim 🙂

    I like your style, keep writing…

    Androgoth

Leave a Reply

