Spell Check

Forgive me if I’ve missed a word hear and their.

 

Spell Check

 

            I was exchanging emails with my friend the other day and we were debating the need to have all the words in a particular piece you are going to present to someone correctly spelled.

            “There is nothing more annoying than getting half way through a sentence only to find a word is misspelled,” he wrote to me.

            “Oh yes, “ I agreed most fervently. “I mean, what is the matter with these people? Don’t they have spell check?”

            “Spell check?” he replied with his best cyberspace sniff. “Spell check is the problem. People used to be much better spellers before that came along.”

            I was miffed to say the least. To not use spell check was to fly in the face of technology itself. It was like looking for the best place to buy a horse and buggy, to say that the washer and dryer were not useful. To me, it was just insane to ignore advances in the human race.

            He was my friend, but I let him have, albeit in a good-natured way.

            “What is you’re problem with spell check?” I asked, typing so feverishly what I was practically driving my fingers through the keyboard. Spell check is the greatest invention too ever hit the spelling world. It used to be that people used too have too waist their time looking up all these words just too make sure they were spelled write. Now all they have too do is use a computer function. Its not hard too sea which one of those is the easiest to do, is it? I am hear too tell you there are to many people who look at technology as evil. They won’t have anything too do with it? Righting a peace without using spell check is like pulling you’re dirtiest shit out of the clothes hamper and wearing it too work. Its just not cool.”

            It took him a minute to email me back.

            “Uh,” he typed. “You don’t have spell check on now, do you?”

“KNOW!” I replied. I was mad by then. “I don’t knead it! Now, good knight!”

Tim Keen

January 3rd, 2013

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Spell Check

  1. Barneysday says:

    Mis-spelled, wrong usage of words drives me crazy while reading anything. Spell check is usually a contributing culprit. Of course, Spell Check would have easily passed your response to your friend. LOL

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    You’re post maid me laff. You right well. Thanx so much. 😉

  3. pattisj says:

    A word is a word to Spell Check.

  4. Okay…here’s another one that drives me nuts. I have a friend that, instead of using (SP?), consistently uses [SIC] as a qualifier when she is unsure if she spelled a word correctly. Makes me crazy and I think I would sound condescending if I told her the correct usage.

  5. prenin says:

    Very clever! 🙂

    I no I spelt it write because my spell cheque told me sew… 😉

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  6. Laura Best says:

    Thanks for the giggle. 🙂

  7. aprille says:

    “hear and their” just about sums up its shortcomings.
    and prenin says it beautifully.
    fun post.

  8. All that Word Play Fun!
    Cha Cha!

  9. Androgoth says:

    A very good lesson my good friend, I guess
    even the most learned individuals need a kick
    up the ass now and again, and he certainly
    deserved his 🙂 🙂

    Have a great Tuesday Tim 🙂

    Androgoth

  10. Geoff says:

    I have just added you to my New Space
    Tim so check out your invite so that you
    will be granted access my friend 🙂 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend 🙂

    Geoff aka Andro

  11. suzicate says:

    Hilarious!
    I can get so riled up reading posts on Facebook…it annoys me to no end when people get simple things like you’re and your wrong!

  12. Geoff says:

    Have a great weekend Tim 🙂

    Geoff

  13. Ha ha! I found the post both funny and ironic, always a great combination.

    Dankeshe!

    Shakti

  14. Ha ha ha… Loved this..!
    I’m not so bad now however, I am dyslexic, and spelling (and reading for that matter) was a great hardship…! In my youth, when I was learning to spell I kept a dictionary with me at all times (one never knew when it would be needed)..! Problem was, if I couldn’t work out the first few letters of a word I couldn’t (obviously) find it in the dictionary. Seems spell check can be a torment for some too. If you don’t have a good understanding of the spelling (particularly, as you emphasized, those words that sound the same but with different spelling) you can be ‘up the creek without a paddle’…!
    Ah well, guess that does say something for learning our abc’s… 🙂

    • timkeen40 says:

      Thanks for coming by. Seeing someone who has an obvious hardship overcome is awesome. I don’t what I would be if I couldn’t write. Awesome work on your part.

      Tim

      • Thanks Tim; didn’t write it to get this response however, I’m grateful….!
        The daughter is also dyslexic. She is currently in her 4th year at university… Watching her (and helping her) has been both hard work and a joy, being a part of her ‘overcoming’…!
        As for the writing bit; I think that’s what spurred me on – I too love to write…!

  15. Laughing so hard I’m in paroxysms and can’t breathe 🙂

  16. Eric Alagan says:

    I no what you mean Tim, I phased the same thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

