I’m Blogging Rich

I’m Blogging Rich

 

I started blogging six years ago. It was no coincidence that the start of my blog and the self-publishing of After Hours lined up. I started investigating what I needed to do to become a self-publishing guru and the first thing I learned was that I must have a web presence.

Great! I thought. Now there’s a second thing I don’t know anything about. First, self-publishing and, second, blogging. What the hell. Tear the lid off the pickle jar and dive in. I’ll learn to love pickle juice or drown.

I could go into all of the details of the blogging and self-publishing but nearly all of you reading this would go blah, blah, blah. You would want to read about something you don’t know about. So I will skip it. I will get to intent and result.

From the outset, my intent was clear. I was going to self-publish, go into blogging world, achieve a vast following and become super rich. I am happy to say I have done just that only not quite in the way I might have expected.

Don’t get me wrong. I am still writing towards the goal of monetary compensation. It is important to me, but I don’t think it any longer defines what my definition of rich is when it comes to my writing. In my blogging, I had an unexpected positive in getting to meet and talk to people from all over the world. My blogging on any given day gets views from the UK, Ecuador, and the Czech Republic. I live in Franklin, Ky. Please look that up and see how remote the chances are ever of getting to talk to any of those people without the power of the internet. How awesome is that?

There’s another blessing in all of this as well and before I say this, I want to be clear I am not dogging that big social media network or anyone who is on it. It is just not for me. I am connecting through this forum with creative people who share creative ideas. I never knew how powerful photography or paintings or any of that could be until I started doing this thing I am doing. I was not a huge fan of poetry, but probably half of posts have been poems that I have written, poems that were inspired from something I read while blogging. Before I started blogging, that sounded ludicrous to me. Me? Poems? No way.

All that being said, I have sold copies of my book. It is on Amazon. Please (shameless plug – I would come wash your car if I could to get you to take a look) go to my About page and give me a chance. I will continue to strive for book sales as any author/writer/poet should, but while my blogging experience has not made me rich in the monetary sense just yet, it has given me a connection to the world that I did not expect.

I would call that a fringe benefit of being in the blogging world.

I hope you have enjoyed my take on being Blogging Rich

 

Thanks,

Tim

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I’m Blogging Rich

  1. Wonderful, Tim and congratulations! We need to talk, as I am about to take that big publishing step myself!

  2. timkeen40 says:

    Paula,
    Thanks so much for stopping by. I will help any way I can.

    Thanks,
    Tim

  3. prenin says:

    Good luck dude – I got published too and they sold 2 copies: One to my friend Gloria in the USA and one to Joanne who lives across the road from me! :/

    On the plus side I was able to buy a case of each book and give signed copies to friends and family! 🙂

    Guess I won’t be retiring JUST yet!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  4. Well said, Tim! I am blessed to connect with people online from around the world through my blog and agree that it is a wonderful benefit of blogging 🙂

  5. energywriter says:

    You’re on your way, Rich. Keep up the good work. sd

  6. The Hook says:

    No, thank you, Tim.
    And well done.

  7. timkeen40 says:

    Mary,
    Thanks for you comment. Glad you stopped by.
    Tim

  8. timkeen40 says:

    Hook,
    Thanks for stopping by. The back and forth with all you guys on the web have made this a great process.

    Tim

  9. Enjoyed the writing Tim and this reply is proof that you can reach a broad set of folks easily through blogging. I started blogging in March, pretty much on a whim. I was looking for something new and had no idea what blogging was all about, so why not give it a go. I personal expect zero monetary gain, but rather am hoping others will read and enjoy my writings. I’ve experienced a blogging high just from the responses I’ve received. Good luck to you!

  10. Chez Shea says:

    Very interesting to hear your story Tim. Congratulations on getting so far down the path. I really relate to what you are saying as I started on the same path this year. Like yourself, I find the blog sphere a very rich and rewarding space.

  11. Stella says:

    I, too, feel blogging-rich–been blogging since Summer 2011, and I’ve had close to 50 blogs (started and quit, as my moods shifted). My hope is to self-publish a book next year…not to actually acquire wealth/fame, but rather to put a “real book” in my aging cousin’s hands with my name on it. She’s a saint, and deserves that much 🙂 I don’t want to bash social media, but I don’t do Facebook–and my Twitter account lasted about 72 hours…my ability to be “social” is limited to blogging 🙂 Best wishes to you.

  12. Hey, Tim, saw you stopped my blog today. Thanks! Now here I am checking out your blog….Poetry snuck up on me, too. About 5 years ago, I was really surprised when poetry became a cathartic outlet of emotional expression that felt really good, and resonated with some kindred spirits. Great to be out here in the blog-o-sphere with you.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Vicki,
      I never saw myself much into poetry. I have a friend and we started writing songs together. Lyrics and poetry are not exactly the same thing, but pretty close.

      Tim

  13. Wow, that’s great! Couldn’t agree more with you, it does give you the chance to talk and learn from others that may be thousands away from your location :))

  14. accordingtokeef says:

    Congrats on getting your book on Amazon. It’s no easy feat. I completely agree with you about meeting people from all over the world. The WordPress community is a different type of connection than the usual social platforms. It’s deeper. Great post!

Leave a Reply

