Your Write Place

Your Write Place

 

My favorite place to write has changed a lot over the years mostly to do my age, financial situation, and the amount of garbage I have rumbling through my mind at any given time. When I first started writing at the tender age of seven, I was so captivated by my newfound gift that anywhere there was a notebook, a pen or pencil and a place to sit down was my favorite place. Back then, without the weight of the world to drag my thoughts down, I could block out everything and the words fell from my mind to the paper like magic.

That remained steady almost all the way through high school. Anywhere I could be sit, I could push away distractions and the words would fall. Then, somehow, the world got busy. I got married. I became a father. I started working not to buy toys, but to make ends meet, to support a family. With all that came something I had never experienced before…distractions that I couldn’t easily make go away. Suddenly, for the first time ever, I needed a place to write.

Those places have varied over the years, of course. In the days of pen and paper or typewriter, it was a spare room, usually one with a door where I could lock everything out for just a little while and coax life out of and into the characters I created. Mostly it was a spare bedroom but once, when the rooms were full, it was our kitchen with the sliding door closed and the manual typewriter on board supported by two trashcans. A towel under the manual kept the noise to a minimum.

Once the personal computer came into being, my writing place became limited to wherever the computer was setup which was often times in the same room as the television. Of course with the PC came the internet and the ability to download music. My personal favorite music to block out the surrounding world is instrumental based, mood type music. The headphones and the music take the world away and I fall into that gray area between my ears where all things are possible.

Eventually the mecca arrived for all writers, myself included. The laptop. This was the most convenient, most powerful thing every invented for the writer. Once again, just like in the days of pen, pencil, and paper, I could go anywhere I needed to go to write. Since the headphones and mood music of above applied, it meant that anywhere I could find a place to sit was a writing place as long as there was an outlet or the life in my battery. I could write in the living room while my wife watched television. Or I could write in the back of the car while we traveled. One of my favorite places to write is on an airplane or in the airport waiting for that plane to arrive.

With all that being said, with all the evolution of my writing places over the years, I do have a preferred place to write when I am at home. I have a covered deck with a fireplace. Wind chimes out on the porch seem to always be singing on the wind and the view from this place, for me, is fantastic. It eases my mind and the words flow.

What is your write place?

 

Fire Place

Tim’s Write Place

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Your Write Place

  1. chicasl10 says:

    most of the time the emotional state is crucial to write Im not a writer in the word writer. U are a writer Words come easy. and the fire place is perfect
    go on..

    Mj

  2. timkeen40 says:

    It is most definitely my favorite time of day whenever I get the chance to sit and write.

    Thanks for stopping by.
    Tim

  3. This post resonated with me as I have been working tirelessly for over a week to clean up a super cluttered workspace I was never happy with. I nabbed furniture from around the house that is just beautiful and I have thrown so much of the clutter away. It took me a while to decide what I wanted to do until I realized I’m a laptop worker, not a desktop worker, so I put my desktop on a piece I can’t really sit at and put in a comfortable chair to curl up in and put a laptop where it is supposed to go. The beautiful wood furniture and comfort are currently being a great inspiration to me and I can’t wait to get home today to add the finishing touched to the space – and write!!

  4. Delightful read. I did the same with drawing.

  5. At my desk. Can be anywhere really, but I need a desk. Preferably uncluttered, because I have my own clutter to place all over it.

  6. kokodynia says:

    Oh man, such a marvelous place to write! I crave a fireplace 🙂
    I found this post very inspiring and interesting, indeed :))

  7. We have come a long way, haven’t we? I used to write with pen and notepad but now my laptop in my office (third bedroom) is where I write. But I think I wrote more on that legal lined notepad.

  8. adeeyoyo says:

    I love “the grey area between my ears” to be filled with Queen and Freddie Mercury!

  9. timkeen40 says:

    That’s not a bad place. I particularly like that Bohemian thing. Personally when I need to block out the world, I use mood music. Summer Thunder is one of my favorites. Music. No words.

    Tim

  10. restlessjo says:

    It’s usually just the armchair by the window, with the light shining in over my shoulder. 🙂
    Thanks for asking, and thanks for the follow.

  11. Stella says:

    I enjoyed your post–and will respond particularly to the “wind chimes”: I have a collection of 4–the 3 newest ones are inside, and I aim my fans at them so that I can have their “music” year-round, no matter the weather. There’s nothing better than that sound…well, maybe the ocean waves, but I’m not near the beach currently… 😉

  12. No matter where I write I have headphones on. Words move more than sounds.

  13. Marquessa says:

    I love yo write late at night but it becomes dangerous ’cause I can easily go on and on… 😊 and with my bluetooth keyboard, i can write on my cell and tablet anywhere…

  14. Run Wright says:

    My post about my perfect writing space here: https://runwright.net/2015/12/11/what-the-perfect-writing-space-looks-like/
    I require so little 😀

Leave a Reply

