A New Beginning

New Beginning

 

When I am finally done with a story, I am done with it. At that point in time, is has gone from concept to completion and, due to my way of editing, it has been a grueling process, one lasting anywhere from a few weeks to months depending on how difficult the editing has been.

I love the first part of the story writing. It starts the same for me as with any writer, I think. The idea comes to me from nowhere. Not exactly true, of course. I read. I write. I watch the news. I do all the things necessary for the idea to come but it must come to me. I can’t go out and manufacture an idea. I have never written a good story when I told myself I was going to write about X. The good story comes when the idea just shoots into my head like a thunderbolt, complete with enough details to write it. I know how the story is going to flow, what the beginning middle, and end need to look like and, more importantly, the twist at the end. It can take several days after completing the last story to months for the next idea to come, but when it does finally come, I am like a little kid with a new toy. I can’t wait to get to my computer and start pounding the keys.

It is a feeling like no other. I am sure those of you who create on any level will understand. I get to my writing room, start a fire in the fireplace (yes, even in the summer) and go to work. Only it is not work. It is a high like no other. The ideas and thoughts in my head are at one with my fingers. I am a terrible typist as a rule, but during this time, I will put my skills with anyone. I don’t make mistakes. My fingers rarely miss the keys. During this time, I can close my eyes, see the story in my head, and my fingers will work as commanded. I typically write one to three hours a day. Depending on the length of the story, I will complete the first draft in a week.

Here is where the fun starts to wane. The most horrific words for any writer must be writer’s block and editing. True writers fear one (writer’s block) and dread the other (editing). I am not one to pour over my work and make notes. My preferred form of editing is this. I print the story onto paper, put the written words up in front of me, and write it again. I write the entire story from front to end. When I go through it the second time, if the warm feeling is not there, I write a third time. Maybe a fourth time.

By the end for that process, I might have spent two to three months with the same story, the same ideas, the same characters. Like a marathon runner, I start with a good pace, keep going when the it feels like the keys on my computer are made of concrete, get bogged down towards the end, and trip across the finish line, exhausted and elated the whole thing is complete.

After that, I take a deep breath and wait for the next idea to come so I can start the process all over again. I do all of this knowing I wouldn’t give up this ability, the gift, this course, if my life depended on it.

Thanks for listening and, please, tell me your story.

 

Tim

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A New Beginning

  1. The creative gift is as ever its greatest curse, for in eternal imagination to write a verse, so in endless potential to see the success or failure of what we do, so opens a door to where insanity will answer with either a poison or a cure

  2. prenin says:

    I found writing a private pleasure, my budding talents of child writing crushed in the bud by my abuser father who took pleasure in making me burn my first manuscript a page at a time to impress on me just how crap it was, even though he hadn’t read it, before he destroyed my typewriter.

    Decades on I escaped him, and began writing for fun.

    A friend who was starting up a publishing company asked me if I had a manuscript I’d like to offer for publication.

    I sent her the manuscript and she had me beat it into a fit shape for publication, splitting it into two stories: ‘Jabberweil Hunt’ and ‘Songs of Angels’.

    Unfortunately she had medical issues and a change in medication caused violent mood swings, but she was spotted before she took the lives of herself and her children!

    I bought twelve copies of each book and gave away signed copies to my friends.

    It remains on sale on her website, but so far I have only sold two copies of the first volume to Gloria in the USA and Josephine who lives across the road from me!

    Was it worth it?

    Yes.

    My dad had to face his crimes as I proved I wasn’t mentally retarded as he had claimed, I used to be a programmer, but he died spitting venom and was only seen to his grave by my youngest brother and his wife who he buttered up so there was somebody there to lay him to rest.

    The website?

    redmundpro.com – you’ll find my biography on there too..

    God Bless!

    Ian M Shaw (Prenin)

  3. energywriter says:

    Thank you for reminding me that most of us go through this sluggish process. Sometimes I see my writing group pals churn out page after page seemingly without stopping and I become intimidated my their production.

Leave a Reply

