The Scratch Outside My Door

I hope you like this.

The Scratch Outside My Door

 

I don’t think much about you, at least not any more

You are just a little whisper, a scratch outside my door

 A place I like to go when I’m head against the wind

Wrapping arms of warmth when I most need a friend

The little scratch that whispers, open up your door

 

I don’t think about you, at least not any more

You are just a faded memory, an ode to Ed’s Lenoir

A ghost inside my head, a headstone I can read

The granite name that leaves my soul to bleed

When I don’t think about you, I see you evermore.

 

Tim Keen

11-14-2012

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00413PZ6G

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00413PZ6G

 

 

 

 

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Scratch Outside My Door

  1. Barneysday says:

    Very nice.

  2. prenin says:

    Good one Tim.

    Reminds me of how I felt when my wife-to-be died.

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  3. chicasl10 says:

    Beautiful written The emotional words come easy for you no?? i enjoyed reading

  4. pattisj says:

    I do like this, Tim.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    This was a beautiful poem.

  6. willowdot21 says:

    Beautiful poem that shows us the soul’s bereavement the raw loss that becomes a quiet gnawing at the soul.

  7. apollorose says:

    Denial leads to an extended agony and pain. Love the truth here. 🙂

  8. Tammy says:

    The visual of a scratch outside my door actually caused me to focus on the loss of beloved pets.

    • timkeen40 says:

      Not at all. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time.

      Tim

      • timkeen40 says:

        Tammy,
        Sorry for the loss. This came about partly because my daughter was having to write an evaluation on The Raven (the references are not accidental) and partly because my long ill grandmother died. Thanks so much for spending your time with my blog.

        Tim

  9. Love this one, excellent poem Tim, I really enjoy reading your posts.
    Have a great evening.
    Hugs, Nikki

Leave a Reply

