The Way You Want Me To Be

Happy New Year to all. I hope you like this.

The Way You Want Me To Be

 

There is a way you want me to be

I can see that much in your eyes

I want to please you, too

Part of me even tries

 

But this thing inside my soul

This thing you cannot understand

It drives my very being

It is my upper hand

 

I cannot walk your walk

Nor can I fall on bended knee

I can only be myself

And then, I will be free

 

Tim Keen

12-30-12

About timkeen40

When I was seven, I opened one of those little Golden Books (Lassie) and started copying the words down on paper and it set my soul on fire. I have been writing ever since. I don't know where this is going but I invite you along on the journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Way You Want Me To Be

  1. prenin says:

    Very true my friend! 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Prenin.

  2. Lovely! here’s to 2013 and more great posts.

  3. Aurora HSP says:

    The ultimate freedom – a gift to oneself. Well said. Happy New Year!

  4. meiro says:

    So true.
    Happy New Year, hopefully in the coming years you and your family be happier and be more successful.

    With love,
    mei

  5. lafgod says:

    Great Poem. Thanks for sharing. Hope you have a very Happy New Year, my friend.

  6. Renee Espriu says:

    You lend a voice in your words to what many people think but cannot express. Have a Happy New Year!

  7. Ray's Mom says:

    Good thought in your words. Being yourself is all that should be expected. It is when someone tries to be someone they aren’t when disappointment follows. God bless you and your family in 2013.

  8. Androgoth says:

    Happy New Year 2013 Tim
    and welcome back my friend 🙂

    Be well and enjoy your
    Hump Day, I always do 🙂

    Androgoth

  9. Sara v says:

    Hi Tim, so perfectly penned. We have to be true to ourselves. Thank you for the visit to my blog, and Happy New Year!!

  10. Imelda says:

    How true. It is only when one is true to himself that he can truly love and be happy. Nicely written. 🙂 Happy new year.

  11. siggiofmaine says:

    And that’s the way it is…you must be true to yourself…or you won’t like who you’ve become and neither will they. Been there. Done that !☺ Learned an important lesson.
    Peace,
    Siggi

    • timkeen40 says:

      You’ve been there, done that. But without the lesson, then it was futility. Without the learning of the lesson, there was no peace.

      Thanks so much for coming by.

      Tim

  12. julespaige says:

    I think we do get into fits and starts and big trouble when we either seek to fit into another’s mold or try to ignore that little voice that tells us how we can be truthfully ourselves. As we will always be our parents children…we often fall when we fail their expectations. Acceptance of who we are by ourselves as well as other makes life’s routines acceptable when we play at being ‘Ants’.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  13. Androgoth says:

    I never told you how good this poem is Tim
    but you have a wonderful flowing style that
    adds depth to your words…

    Androgoth

    • timkeen40 says:

      I do appreciate that, Androgoth. You keep me chilled to the bone. In case you haven’t noticed, my stories and poems tend to gravitate to the darker side of our nature. You and I have that in common, I think.

      Tim

  14. claudia says:

    oh i agree..it’s so important that we stay true to ourselves…

Leave a Reply

